Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Sandhills Public Schools

About Us


Ajax Loading Image


Sandhills History

Sandhills Public Schools is a consolidated system which includes the communities of Brewster, Dunning, Halsey and Purdum. The school was organized in 1973. The high school is located in Dunning and is 5-12 with 62 students. The elementary school is located in Halsey and is K-4 with 40 students. Sandhills Public Schools received North Central Accreditation in the spring of 2009 and every year since. 


During the 2008-2009 school year the Sandhills Panthers and Thedford Trojans began a coop program for athletics and became the Sandhills/Thedford Knights.


The School Board approved a 1 to 1 laptop computer initiative for students 7-12 beginning in the 2009-2010 school year.


The current board of education is President: Tedd Teahon; Vice President: Steve Bass; Secretary: Jeff Martindale; Treasurer: Michelle Milleson. The other board members are Tyson Cox and Reed Larsen.